Lancashire Automobile Club Annual Dinner Dance 2020

Lancashire Automobile Club Annual Dinner Dance 2020

Members and guests of Lancashire Automobile Club filled Mitton Hall, just north of Whalley, for their annual season opener.

Compliments of the Club – sparkling wine or orange juice, was served to all attending on arrival. The room had been set to perfection by Eileen Dyson and Carolyn Taylor to welcome everyone.

Once seated David Taylor said a very appropriate grace with a motoring twist:

For the food that we eat

For the company we keep

For the engines that we tweak

And for the sport in which we compete

May the Lord keep us safe and truly thankful.  Amen

Then an excellent meal was served by the Mitton Hall staff followed by the loyal toast read by Mike Wood.

Then the formalities of the annual prize giving were dispensed as quickly and painlessly as possible. The awards, presented by the club President Mike Raven, recognise the contributions to the club of many of the members and officials.

Wood Trophy

The Wood Trophy is all about rallying and road events in particular. This year we are spreading the criteria a bit.

The LAC has built up a reputation for organising some fine events including:

The St Georges Day Run

The Fellsman

The Manchester to Blackpool

The Coast to Coast

And last but by no means least the Highland 3 Day

The winner of this award had either organised or entered on all these events; but one event in particular,  has been his baby. He brought the idea to the Club and we were happy to back him all the way and in return he and his team organised one of the finest events of its type.

Mike Raven shows off his trophy to Chris Lee

Last year saw the final running of this Rally as he is taking a break. Not to worry we have a fine replacement in the form of the Border Reivers Run and we are sure the Highland will be back when the time is right.

The Wood Trophy was presented to Mike Raven, Clerk of Course for the Highland 3 Day, by Mike Wood.

Attwater Trophy For services to the Club.

The Attwater is really the Club saying thank you for all your efforts.

As always this was a difficult choice – so many people put their time and effort into running the club and all its many events, but this year one person really stood out. He is involved in every event but members seldom see him!

In addition, for the last two years he has given up a lot of his time guiding us through the tricky process of establishing a new corporate structure.

So the winner of this award was the Club’s Honorary Treasurer, Stephen Proctor.

Unfortunately, Stephen was unable to attend the event so the trophy was presented at the Club’s AGM earlier in the week.


The RW Clarke Memorial Trophy was presented by Ray’s family to the Club. Ray was an organiser of LAC events for many, many years as well as being the Club Treasurer.

Normally this trophy is for a Challenge based on a full season of motoring events. But this year the championship compiler hadn’t received the required number of entries so it was decided to do something different!

The compiler looked through the entries for our classic events to see who had consistently supported the events over the last 5 years.

Some of the members do many events, not only road events but also the Club’s social events: one name stood out and we decided to present the award this year to John Atkinson.

Jaguar Trophy

This trophy (actually a ‘leaper’) was presented by Jaguar Cars Plc to the LAC to use annually as we wish. The club tries to ensure this trophy goes to one of the many Jaguar owners and drivers who take part in the Club’s events.

This year the award was presented to Geoff Neumark who is a regular entrant in his fantastic Jaguar E Type.

Not only that but he has campaigned the E Type on several major events with some success over the years.

President’s Award

This award is presented at the President’s discretion and is a purely personal choice. Traditionally it has gone to members who have given long term support to the club either as an entrant or organizer.

This year the Club President, Mike Raven, presented the award to Carolyn Taylor who not only is the prime driver (no pun intended!) behind the annual Dinner Dance but has helped organize the Sportsman’s Luncheons and other social and road events over the years.

That brought the prize presentation to our premier award the

Peter Collins Trophy – The Clubs Premier award

As a bit of background Peter Collins was a British Grand Prix driver who found great success driving for Ferrari. On his death his widow past this trophy to the club to be awarded to recognize the success of Club members in motorsport.

Our worthy winner this year has competed at many of the premier racing circuits and covered himself with some glory in the process.

Last year we presented a special award for a newcomer who was making their mark.

We thought he might win the Mychreest Trophy for his exploits in sprints and hillclimbs this year but his exploits on the track have surpassed our expectations.

Amongst his racing exploits,alongside huge grids,  he managed:

3rd in Class in Northern Saloon & Sports Car Championship in his Caterham 7.

So he had done very well after last year. To say the least.

He also got the golden opportunity, which I suppose we all dream of by driving  a Saudia Williams Formula One up the hill at the Goodwood Festival of Speed.

That says something about the high regard Andrew Wareing has in his abilities – he just doesn’t let anyone drive his pride and joy!

Racing can be hard work, all that way, and then disaster, then home again and fix.: that was his previous season  –  So to keep on going and continue with great enthusiasm, deserv

Mike Raven presting to Drew Myerscough

es our premier award.

The Peter Collin’s Trophy was awarded to Drew Myerscough.

Following the presentation there was dancing till midnight only interrupted by a very rapid raffle which raised a splendid amount of money to support the Blood Bikers charity.

A thoroughly enjoyable evening made all the better by the many members and guests who attended.

Chris Lee

PS The 2012 Dinner Dance will be held at Mitton Hall on Friday 12th March.