112th Annual Dinner, Dance and Awards – 2014

Held at the recently refurbished and ever popular Mitton Hall, nearly one hundred members and guests were welcomed at the entrance with a glass of bubbly to set the taste buds on edge for a gourmet meal of Cesear Salad, Roast Rump of Lamb with Thyme Jus and steamed vegetables, and Pear and Almond Frangipan for sweet, with coffee and chocolates to finish.

Chris Lee was again the MC for the evening and introduced all the good and the great to the also rans, followed by the godly, (as opposed to demon) duo of the Reverend Barry Whitehead, and daughter Eve who gave the Grace.

Following the meal the awards were presented by Simon Hope of H & H Auctions, and long time friend of the club, the recipients were:- Speed Championship 4th Phil Perks, 3rd Barry Whitehead, 2nd John Moxham, 1st Eve Whitehead.

Simon Hope was presented with the Wood Trophy, by Mike Wood, for his exploits in the Peking to Paris Rally.

The Attwater Trophy went to Alwyn and Margaret Davies, and in the R.W. Clarke Memorial Trophy for the Classic Challenge the results were as follows, Navigators award, Margaret Breakell, Drivers award Frank Sharples, Organisers award Mike Raven and the overall winner of the RW Clarke Memorial Trophy was Geoffrey Breakell

The clubs top, and much coveted award, the Peter Collins Trophy, was presented by President Martin Wylie to Mike Smith, for his outstanding record in many spheres of motor sport. Who then delivered a very gracious acceptance speech.

Past President Carolyn Taylor, performing her last duty in high office, awarded the Presidents Cup to Michele and Tim Atty fortheir work on the membership and website

Following the formalities Harvey cracked the disco into life, and whilst some danced the night away others sought out the quiet room for a chat with old chums.

A very well organised evening, with the proceeds of the raffle being donated to the help Woody fund.